2020 MN Superintendent of the Year Nominations are now Closed




    The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) is inviting nominations for the 2020 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year. The recipient of this prestigious award will be a candidate among other state winners for National Superintendent of the Year. The 2020 AASA National Superintendent of the Year will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education, February 13–15, 2020, San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, CA.

    The program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our state’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor or top leader of a school system in Minnesota who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated. This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents.

    Each candidate for the National Superintendent of the Year Award must first be named by their state association as the State Superintendent of the Year.

    Each State Superintendent of the Year is judged on the following criteria:  

    • Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.  
    • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.  
    • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.  
    • Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues. 

    The nomination deadline is Aug. 1, 2019.

    Please nominate your superintendent at http://soy.aasa.org
    You will then be directed to the National Association page. Click on the NOMINATE button.

    For further information contact:

    Jeanna Vohnoutka, Associate
    MASA – Minnesota Association of School Administrators
    Phone: 651-789-4062


    Jennifer Rooney, Assistant Director, Meetings & Awards
    AASA – The School Superintendents Association
    1615 Duke Street Alexandria, VA 22314
    Phone: 703-875-0709
    E-mail: jrooney@aasa.org

    Recipients of the Minnesota Superintendent of the Year Award:


    2020   David Law, Anoka-Hennepin School District

    2019   Jay Haugen, Farmington Area Public Schools

    2018    Deb Henton, North Branch Area Schools

    2017    Curt Tryggestad, Eden Prairie Schools

    2016    Daniel Bittman, Sauk Rapids-Rice School District

    2015    Sandra Lewandowski, Intermediate District 287

    2014   Kate Maguire, Osseo Area Schools

    2013    Jeff Olson, Saint Peter Public Schools

    2012    Chris Richardson, Northfield Public Schools

    2011    Scott Staska, Rocori Public Schools

    2010    Patty Phillips, No. St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale School District

    2009    Dennis Peterson, Minnetonka Public Schools

    2008    Mark Robertson, Fridley Public Schools

    2007    Don Helmstetter, Spring Lake Park Schools

    2006    Gary Prest, Bloomington Public Schools

    2005    Ben Kanninen, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

    2004    Kay Worner, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

    2003    Ken Dragseth, Edina Public Schools

    2002    Carol Johnson, Minneapolis Public Schools

    2001    Theodore Blaesing, White Bear Lake Schools

    2000    Laverne (Bob) Lageson, Big Lake Public Schools

    1999    Michael L. Kremer, Hopkins Public Schools

    1998    Gregory A. Vandal, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools

    1997    Chris L. Huber, Spring Lake Park Schools

    1996    James R. Rickabaugh, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

    1995    Donald F. Groth, Kasson-Mantorville Public Schools

    1994    Lowell D. Larson, Richfield Public Schools

    1993    Marl Ramsey, Osseo Area Schools

    1992    John R. McClellan, Centennial School District

    1991    James R. Walker, North Branch Area Schools

    1990    Donald R. Draayer, Minnetonka Public Schools

    1989    Gerald L. McCoy, Eden Prairie Public Schools

    1988    Glenn G. Matejka, Hutchinson Public Schools