Each year, MASA provides an opportunity to recognize outstanding members who are dedicated leaders and advocates for children and Minnesota education.

    We encourage you to consider nominating yourself or a colleague for recognition.
    Nominate someone who you feel reflects the qualities of a leader who is committed to education and who is an exemplary representative of MASA.




    (due mid January)

    The nominee of this award will have a positive history/association with MN public education. The recipient will have contributed/participated in activities that improve Minnesota's public education system on a statewide basis and have a reputation as a person that willingly goes the extra mile. This award is presented at the MASA Spring Conference.

    2019 Recipient
    Janet Mohr, Retired Executive Director, Minnesota Board of School Administrators

    Press Release

    Recognition at the Annual Spring Conference

    Past Recipients

    KAY J
    (due mid January)

    The nominee of this award must be an active or associate female member of MASA, must have demonstrated the attributes of leadership and involvement in MASA and other educational organization’s as did Kay E. Jacobs. This award is presented at the Annual Spring Conference.

    2019 Recipient
    Cindy Amoroso, Superintendent, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District

    Press Release

    Recognition at the Annual Spring Conference


    (due mid January)

    The nominees of this award must be non-superintendent MASA members who are Central Office Administrators exhibiting a willingness to risk, possess strong communication skills, are progressive change agents and who have high expectations for self and others. Two awards will be presented annually, one from greater MN and one from the metro area. This award is presented at the MASA Spring Conference.

    2019 Recipient
    Outstanding Central Office Administrator
    Metro Recipient

    Robert McDowell, Assistant Superintendent, Stillwater Area Public Schools

    Press Release


    2019 Recipient
    Outstanding Central Office Administrator
    Greater Minnesota Recipient

    Kyle Breitkreutz, Director of Technology, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

    Press Release

    Recognition at the Annual Spring Conference


    (due mid January)

    The nominee of this award must be a current active or associate member of MASA, an exemplary school leader with twenty or more years of administrative experience. This award is presented at the MASA Fall Conference. 

     2019 Recipient
    Gerald Ness
    Fergus Falls Public Schools

    Recognition at the Annual Fall Conference


    (due March 1)

    This award honors the scholarly work and professional development of Minnesota school leaders through the award of an annual recognition for the research, writing and presentation of one paper reflecting the practice of excellent school leadership. 

     2019 Recipient
    Michelle Mortensen
    Renville County West Schools

    Recognition at the Annual Fall Conference


    (posted on the MASA Website first week of June; Nominations due August 1)

    The recipient is selected by a panel of representatives convened by MASA from a variety of Minnesota education organizations.  Each candidate is judged on the following criteria:

    • Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.
    • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.
    • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
    • Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues.

    2020 Recipient
    David Law, Superintendent,

    Press Release

    Recognition will be held at the Spring Conference


    (due date determined by each region, but no later than February 1)

    This award honors an administrator annually from each of the nine MASA regions. The nominee must have provided service to MASA through their active participation in a MASA district, regional and state organizational and/or leadership functions and activities, demonstrated active involvement in educational and community affairs, be regarded as a role model by MASA colleagues and be a practicing administrator and a member of MASA.


    2019 Recipients
    MASA Administrators
    of Excellence

    Region 1:
    Jeff Pesta, Superintendent, Kenyon-Wanamingo School District

    Region 2:
    Bill Adams, Superintendent, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton School District

    Region 3
    Chris Fenske, Superintendent, Lakeview Public Schools

    Region 4
    Diane Cordes, Superintendent, Breckenridge Public Schools

    Region 5
    Vern Capelle, Superintendent, Upsala Area Schools

    Region 6
    Scott Thielman, Superintendent, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

    Region 7
    William Crandall, Superintendent, Lake Superior & Cook County School Districts

    Region 8
    Jeff Bisek, Superintendent, Mahnomen Public Schools

    Region 9:
    Teri Staloch, Superintendent, Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools

    Recognition at the Annual Spring Conference

    Press Releases

    Past Recipients


    Members who have completed 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 or 45 years of administrative service and five years as MASA members may receive service pins.

    Eligibility years are counted as school fiscal years. If you qualify for both a superintendent pin and an administrator pin in the same year, you may get both.

    This recognition form is included in the Fall Conference Registration.






    Recognition at the Annual Fall Conference