• MASA Logo


    MASA Executive Director Position


    The process of finding a successor to Gary Amoroso, retiring MASA Executive Director, is underway and is now entering the phase in which the Association will accept applications for this position. 
    MASA will accept applications for the role of Executive Director from December 2, 2019 through January 3, 2020.  If you are interested in applying, submit a letter citing your experiences and background that would lead toward your success in this position, as well as a resume and letters of recommendation.
    Send your application materials via email or regular mail to:

    Mia Urick
    MASA Director of Professional Learning
    1884 Como Avenue
    St. Paul, MN  55108

    We will acknowledge receipt of your application materials.

    Information describing the position is attached to this email.

    We would like to remind MASA members that the process for handling applications for this position will be confidential.  Since MASA is a nonprofit entity, information regarding candidates for the position will not be shared with the media nor publicized in any way until a final selection is made.
    The MASA Board has recruited a search committee with representatives from each area of the state.  In addition, the leadership paid careful attention to engaging a committee whose members represent a balance of role and makeup of our organization.  The search committee members are:

    David Law, MASA President and Selection Committee Chair and Superintendent, Anoka-Hennepin School District

    Janell Bullard, Executive Director, MAWSECO

    Renee Corneille, Superintendent, St. Anthony-New Brighton School District

    Suraya Driscoll, Director of Curriculum, East Grand Forks Public Schools

    Jeff Elstad, Superintendent, Owatonna Public Schools

    Kevin Grover, Superintendent, International Falls Schools

    Kim Hiel, Superintendent, Fridley Public Schools

    Darren Kermes, Superintendent, SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288

    Laine Larson, Superintendent, Brainerd Public Schools

    Astein Osei, Superintendent, St. Louis Park Public Schools

    Christine Osorio, Superintendent, N. St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale School District

    Robert Prater, Superintendent, Hinckley-Finlayson Public Schools

    Mia Urick, Director of Professional Learning, MASA

    We anticipate two rounds of interviews: one for a larger group of candidates and a second for a set of finalists for the position.
    If the process remains on schedule we are hoping to announce the selection of the new Executive Director in early February 2020. 
    If you have questions about the process please feel free to contact Mia Urick at MASA.  (651-645-7231 or urickm@mnasa.org).
    David Law, JD
    MASA President and
    Anoka-Hennepin School District
    2727 Ferry St.
    Anoka, MN 55303

    For the MASA Executive Director Job Description Click Here

    For the MASA Executive Director Candidate Profile Click Here