Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) 651•645•6272

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar

PREMIER Partners

                   In alpha order




LEADER Partners

  • 1516baird



    nexus use 18




  • The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) is a private nonprofit member service organization representing more than 900 educational administrators throughout Minnesota. Our members include school superintendents, directors of special education, curriculum and technology leaders, central office administrators, and higher education administrators and professors. In addition to our active members, MASA also serves over 250 retirees.


    MASA ~ Who we are...

    MASA/MASE 2017-2018 CALENDAR
    (printable • as of December 1, 2017)



  • 2018 MASA Legislative Session 3/16 Update

    Sample Some of the MASA ExpertEase Videos!

    As part of our strategic plan to deliver a multi-tiered system of professional development that meets the individualized learning goals of all members, MASA has partnered with Infinitec to create a library of professional development videos that are available to MASA members 24/7. Members can view these videos for their personal professional development and also to engage their teams in discussions surrounding critical topics.   We now have forty-five videos online and we feature a wide variety of topics.  MASA members can complete their PD requirements for teacher relicensure at no cost, and we have a good start on the required EL topics for administrative licensure renewal.  Starting this month, we will be offering several sample videos that will be directly linked from the MASA web site (no sign-in required).  See below for the videos that will are available until May.  We hope you enjoy these videos; please let us know what you think!  Click here for the entire library!


    MASA Presents: Personalized Learning
    Presented by Michelle Ament, Senior Director of Personalized Learning, Eden Prairie Schools


    MASA Presents: Property Taxes from Levy Certification to Individual Tax Statement
    Presented by Shelby McQuay, Municipal Advisor, Ehlers and Andrea Uhl, Financial Specialists, Ehlers


     Superintendent Job Openings   Search today!

    9   Athlos Academy  
    9   Aspen Academy  
    6 3/30/18 BBE Public Schools  
    8 4/9/18 Bemidji Area Schools  
    3   BOLD Public Schools  
    4   Brandon-Evansville Public Schools  
    9 Brooklyn Center Community Schools Carly Baker
    4 3/16/18  Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley District  
    7 Cloquet Public Schools Michael Cary
    8 Crookston Schools Jeremiah Olson
    9 2/28/18 Fridley Public Schools  
    9 2/28/18 Intermediate School District 917  
    2 Le Sueur-Henderson Public Schools Marlene Johnson
    3 2/16/18 MACCRAY Public Schools  
    9 3/26/18  Mahtomedi Public Schools  
    9 2/16/18 MN Transitions Charter School  
        Monticello Schools  
    4 3/9/18 Moorhead Area Schools  
    7   Mountain Iron-Buhl Public Schools  
    9 3/4/18  Osseo Area Schools  
    2 Parkers Prairie Schools & Madelia Public Schools Dean Yocum
    6 Paynesville Area Schools Matthew Bullard
    6 3/20/18 Princeton  
    9 Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan Schools Interim Mary Kreger
    6 Rush City Public Schools Willam Campbell
    3 2/21/18 Russell-Tyler-Ruthton School (RTR)  
    9 St. Anthony-New Brighton School District Renee Corneille
    7 St. Louis County Schools Reggie Engebritson
    6 Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools Aaron Sinclair
    2 4/9/18 Truman Public Schools  
    4 4/9/18 Underwood and Henning  


     Other Learning Opportunities



     Save the Date!
    MDE Back to School Conference
    August 7-8, 2018 • Minneapolis Marriott NW • Brooklyn Park, MN



     Congratulations to the 2018 MASA Award Recipients!

    Polaris Leadership Award
    Lynne Kovash, MASA Retiree, Retired Superintendent, Moorhead Area Public Schools
    The Polaris Leadership Award recipient is honored at the annual MASA Fall Conference.


    Distinguished Service Award
    Governor Mark Dayton
    Press Release


    Kay E. Jacobs Award
    Julia Espe, Superintendent, Princeton Public Schools
    Press Release

    Outstanding Central Office Administrators
    Region 1-8 (Greater MN) Recipient:
    Jean Duffy, Assistant Superintendent Curriculum & Instruction, Becker Public Schools
    Press Release


    Region 9 (Metro) Recipient:
    Doug Johnson, Director of Technology, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District
    Press Release


    2018 MASA Administrators of Excellence

    Region 1: Mark Matuska, Superintendent, Kasson-Mantorville Public Schools

    Region 2: Becky Cselovszki, Superintendent, St. James Public Schools

    Region 3: Cliff Carmody, Executive Director, SWWC Service Cooperative

    Region 4: Rick Bleichner, Superintendent, Herman-Norcross Community Schools

    Region 5: Stephen Jones, Superintendent, Little Falls Community Schools

    Region 6: Robert Huot, Superintendent, Paynesville Area Schools

    Region 7: John Klarich, Superintendent, Mountain Iron-Buhl Public School

    Region 8: Mike Kolness, Superintendent, East Grand Forks Public Schools

    Region 9: Peggy Flathmann, Superintendent, Fridley Public Schools


     2018 MASA Board of Directors Election Nominees


    Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the open seats on the MASA Board of Directors!

    Electronic ballots will be sent to all eligible voting members in March - voting will close in early April.


    Here are your nominees for the open leadership seats on the board:

    2018-19 MASA President-Elect 
    David Law, Superintendent, Anoka-Hennepin School District


    Region 4 Superintendent Component Group Representative
    Doug Froke, Superintendent, Detroit Lakes Public Schools


    Region 6 Superintendent Component Group Representative
    Scott Staska, Superintendent, Rocori Public Schools

    Region 7 Superintendent Component Group Representative
     (one seat open)
    Bill Gronseth, Superintendent, Duluth Schools
    Kevin Grover, Superintendent, International Falls Schools

    Region 9 – Metro – Superintendent Component Group Representative (two seats open)
    Connie Hayes, Superintendent, NE Metro 916 Intermediate District
    Keith Jacobus, Superintendent, South Washington County Schools

    Region 9 – Metro – Central Office Component Group Representative (one seat open)
    Dave Watkins, Ass't. Superintendent, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District
    John Ward, Ass't. Supt.  of Human Resources, Mounds View Public Schools


    Regions 1-8 – Greater MN – Special Education Component Group Representative
    Heidi Hahn, Director of Special Education, Paul Bunyan Education Cooperative


    Retiree Representative (one seat open)
    Ric Dressen
    Mary Klamm
    Nan Records
    Harold Remme
    Kelly Smith 



     2018 MASA Legislative Platform


     Don't miss out on all MESPA, MDE, and MASA have to offer for PreK-3 Professional Development



     Referendum Response

    MASA began this initiative to help school districts deal with organized referendum opposition. This page contains background information on anti-referendum campaigns and how school districts can prepare and respond.