Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) 651•645•6272






                             Thank you for your continued sponsorship of this event!


The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) is inviting nominations for the 2016 Minnesota Superintendent of the Year. The recipient of this prestigious award will be a candidate among other state winners for National Superintendent of the Year. The 2016 AASA National Superintendent of the Year will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education in Phoenix, Arizona, Feb. 11-13, 2016.


Graciously sponsored by ATS&R, the program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our state’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor or top leader of a school system in Minnesota who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated. This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents.


Each candidate is assessed on the following criteria:


·      Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.

·      Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.

·      Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.

·      Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national and international issues.


The nomination deadline is Aug. 1 of each year. For more information, please contact quinn@mnasa.org or visit http://soy.aasa.org.

Past Recipients:

2016 Daniel Bittman, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools

2015 Sandra Lewandowski, Intermediate District 287

2014 Kate Maguire, Osseo Area Schools

2013 Jeff Olson, Saint Peter Public Schools

2012 Chris Richardson,Northfield Schools

2011 Scott Staska, Rocori Schools

2010 Patty Phillips, No. St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale

2009 Dennis Peterson, Minnetonka Schools

2008 Mark Robertson, Fridley Schools

2007 Don Helmstetter, Spring Lake Park Schools

2006 Gary Prest, Bloomington Schools

2005 Ben Kanninen, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Schools

2004 Kay Worner, Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

2003 Ken Dragseth, Edina Schools

2002 Carol Johnson, Minneapolis Schools

2001 Theodore Blaesing, White Bear Lake Schools

2000 Laverne (Bob) Lageson, Big Lake Schools

1999 Michael L. Kremer, Hopkins Schools

1998 Gregory A. Vandal, Sauk Rapids-Rice Schools

1997 Chris L. Huber, Spring Lake Park Schools

1996 James R. Rickabaugh, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Schools

1995 Donald F. Groth, Kasson-Mantorville Schools

1994 Lowell D. Larson, Richfield Schools

1993 Marl Ramsey, Osseo Schools

1992 John R. McClellan, Centennial Schools

1991 James R. Walker, North Branch Schools

1990 Donald R. Draayer, Minnetonka Schools

1989 Gerald L. McCoy, Eden Prairie Schools

1988 Glenn G. Matejka, Hutchinson Schools


2015 Sandra Lewandowski, Intermediate District 287