Minnesota Association of School Administrators 651•645•6272

Each year, MASA provides an opportunity to recognize outstanding members who are dedicated leaders and advocates for children and Minnesota education. We encourage you to consider nominating yourself or a colleague for recognition. Nominate someone who you feel reflects the qualities of a leader who is committed to education and who is an exemplary representative of MASA.


The following nomination forms are due to the MASA office by close of business on DECEMBER 23, 2015

  •  2016 "Outstanding Central Office Leadership" Nomination Form
    The nominees of this award must be non-superintendent MASA members who are Central Office Administrators exhibiting a willingness to risk, possess strong communication skills, are progressive change agents and who have high expectations for self and others. Two awards will be presented annually, one from greater MN and one from the metro area. This award is presented at the MASA Spring Conference.

  • 2016 "Distinguished Service Award" Nomination Form
    The nominee of this award will have a positive history/association with MN public education. The recipient will have contributed/participated in activities that improve Minnesota's public education system on a statewide basis and have a reputation as a person that willingly goes the extra mile. This award is presented at the MASA Spring Conference.

  • 2016 "Polaris Leadership" Nomination Form
    The nominee of this award must be a current active or associate member of MASA, an exemplary school leader with twenty or more years of administrative experience. This award is presented at the MASA Fall Conference. 

  • 2016 "Kay Jacobs" Nomination Form
    The nominee of this award must be an active or associate female member of MASA, must have demonstrated the attributes of leadership and involvement in MASA and other educational organizations as did Kay E. Jacobs prior to her death, and have ten years or less of central office experience. This award is presented at the Annual Spring Conference.

The deadline for submitting a proposal for the Richard Green Scholar Award to the MASA office is the close of business on March 1, 2016

  • 2016 "Richard Green Scholars" Nomination Form
    This award honors the scholarly work and professional development of Minnesota school leaders through the award of an annual recognition for the research, writing and presentation of one paper reflecting the practice of excellent school leadership. 

Nomination deadlines for the "Regional Administrators of Excellence" award vary by each MASA region. Please see below for your region's deadline, or contact your chair.

  • 2016 "Regional Administrators of Excellence" Nomination Form 
    This award honors an administrator annually from each of the nine MASA regions. The nominee must have provided service to MASA through their active participation in a MASA district, regional and state organizational and/or leadership functions and activities, demonstrated active involvement in educational and community affairs, be regarded as a role model by MASA colleagues and be a practicing administrator and a member of MASA.

MASA Region
Region Chair
2016 Date Due

Region 1

Jeff Elstad



Region 2

Bill Adams



Region 3

Renae Tostenson



Region 4  

Jeremy Kovash



Region 5

Lee Westrum



Region 6

Dan Bittman



Region 7

Gregg Allen



Region 8

Dave Pace - Chair



Region 9

John Schultz